Who still do prefer to work on Workflowy and why?

I’m a Pro Remnote user and started almost from the earlier days.
I came from Workflowy as Remnote was also an outliner tool.
Sometimes I still like to play with Workflowy as it’s a very simple and still powerful tool.
I’m wondering if is there users here that still use Workflowy and why.

I do. In Remnote I miss:

• the ability to do proper search ie having a default AND operator between words (not OR) or advanced search
  • the ability to manage properly my tasks (mainly linked to the first point, because you cannot query properly)
  • the mirrors of Workflowy. Portals are slightly different because there is a source and a copy so you have to think where to place each one and sometimes there is no proper answer (ex: task in daily log and in project management page).
1 Like

In RN I miss the speed of the UI, the mobile app and the fast all-in search results, as everything stays under the same tree.

I’d be interested in hearing/seeing more about your use of Workflowy. I went to a journalism talk yesterday and everybody there seemed to use Workflowy as a matter of course. I was intrigued but am liking Remnote and see some overlap.

The thing I don’t prefer about Workflowy is that the local files I drag are uploaded to the Cloud. I do something similar to Workflowy and Hook what I call a “project pile of files and links” in Apple Pages, of all things, because I can control how much space each project takes up. I thought Kanban could help there in RN, but the older Kanban css is broken for me and I never got a reply about that.

I don’t feel like taking time to black-out my notes, so here’s a teenie screencap that’s illegible but gives the idea:

Problems with my Pages-“project pile”:

• it’s not time-aware, programmable, or auto-linked.

Problems with Workflowy and RN:

• all the links have to be uploaded to the Cloud, or I have to use (buy for $40) Hook to get a RN-digestible local URL/URI