NoteTaking structure vs Conceptual Structure (Newbie Question)

Please bear with me I’m a total newbie, something is wrong in the way I’m using the feature building the structure of new knowledge in rem

In my usage of RemNote regarding new information incoming, this is what I do:

Logic 1

I open a new document under a folder (=“Courses”) that I call with the name of the course I’m following. By doing that I created a child Rem Course1 under the parent " Courses ". Under Course1 I create as many section as there is in the original document I’m taking notes about.

I think this matches what RemNote expects me to do.

→ This means that the structure underlying my note taking resembles the table of content of the document. What I mean by that is that the structure (parent/child) is a reflection of the how the document is structured in the first place

Logic 2

Let’s say the Course1 I’m following talks about living things. At some point I’ll deal with “Heart” which is a concept in itself → [[Heart, Ctrl+enter . Now I have a Rem called Heart. Great.

However I would like to have [[Heart nested under [[Organs. How do I do that on the fly ?

To me the only solution is to have 2 different type of structures living in parallel in the left side panel

1. The parent/child structure that resembles the table of content (→ logic 1 )
  2. The many parent/child structures that follow conceptually hierarchical notions (with however as many different taxonomies as necessary) (→ logic 2 )

There is something fundamental that I’m missing, please help me out :slight_smile:

The missing piece is this - Create new references within the same (or any) document - That is how you create Heart nested under Organs on the fly

At the same time, don’t get caught up in organizing the contents perfectly when you are taking notes. You can easily move stuff around either using the shortcut Ctrl + Shift + M or drag - drop the rem to a new parent. I usually do the drag - drop using the split windows.